IT Does Matter: Learnings From My MMBA Roller Coaster Ride

fantastic-rail-design-roller-coaster-background-wallpaper-wallpaper

It’s a roller coaster ride, as I would describe my UPV MMBA experience. The thrill of getting into class and the fear of uncertainty are some of the few things that always keep me at the edge of my seat.  Sleepless nights, skull cracking exams, and hair dropping subject papers are some of the factors that would make me think of giving up. But because of the encouragement of my family, teachers, friends and classmates, I still wage on.

image-6As what Mr. Henry Ford has quoted, “Anyone who stops learning is old, whether at twenty or eighty. Anyone who keeps learning stays young. The greatest thing in life is to keep your mind young”, which I believe is true. It is more of the learnings that you get that matters the most. It is more of letting my self be updated and be one step ahead of completion, rather than staying in one corner and just let myself get outdated.

image-8

 

Speaking of getting myself outdated, my MIS subject has helped me a lot to stay upgraded in the field of technology. As we all know, technology nowadays plays a significant role in our society. My MIS subject has helped me to better appreciate the importance of IT and its impact on my work and with the bank where I am affiliated in. The in-depth understanding of the subject and its topics such as: the roles of managers to IT, the relationship between strategic planning and IT, project management, the advantages and disadvantages of Business Process Outsourcing, corporate governance, collaboration tools and wireless networks, E- business, Enterprise resource planning, Business intelligence, knowledge management, and Enterprise Architecture, would help me become an effective and efficient manager of the bank. The activities on Microsoft Excel and most especially Microsoft Access, which is new to me, would be a great help for me in making my office reports.

image-4

Special thanks go out to my ever patient teacher Ms. Frediezel Galleto – De Leon for sharing her time and knowledge with us. A special shout-out goes to my ever supportive classmates, who continuously remind me not to give-up.   I never realized I would be able to achieve all these without their support.

In the end, when the dust clears after this semester, I am confident enough to say that I will continue to ride this UPV MMBA roller coaster ride until it reaches its final stop. All for the love of learning and continuous improvement.

image-2

Leave a Reply

